A Big Decision: Writing Wednesday

Last Wednesday, I wrote about how some editors wanted me to turn my memoir into a novel. It seems that I first wrote a novel that reads like a memoir (more than once my hands came away red has been mistaken for my personal story, which has led to some awkward encounters with lovely old ladies who have patted me on the shoulder and told me that they’ve been praying for me as I recover from all that trauma). Now, instead, I’ve written a memoir that reads like a novel.

I decided not to fictionalize the memoir, which left me with two options. I could either wait – shelve this book and hope that it would get picked up by a publisher later – or I could self-publish it.

I’ve decided (drum roll, please)… to self-publish.

Despite the strident call to self-publishing arms and tales of riches and fame that are being peddled by folks like Joe Konrath and friends, I have no illusions that I’m incredibly likely to attain either riches or fame by self-publishing this book. That’s not why I want to self-publish.

I want to self-publish because I have spent three years working on this book, it’s important to me, I think it’s good, and I want to see it out there in the big wide world and move on to other projects.

It took me months to make this decision, but now that it’s made I’m excited. Self-publishing is brand new territory for me. To do it even halfway well I’ll have to learn a lot about cover design, marketing, publicity, independently copy-editing the text, etc. I’ll also have to give my website and my blog a makeover. All of this will teach me new things, and despite the fact that the to-do list I’ve been putting together is half a mile long, many of these things are medium-sized projects that I can tackle during baby nap time. I’ve already come up with an idea I love for a free spin-off e-book, and decided that I want to use some of any profits that I do earn from self-publishing to support a charity here in Laos that’s close to my heart.

More on all of that later.

For now, I’ll close with another writing-related quote that makes me laugh. And, tell me, if you’ve self-published a book or an e-guide recently, what’s one lesson you learned along the way?

 “Writing is the only profession where no one considers you ridiculous if you earn no money.”
Jules Renard

12 responses to “A Big Decision: Writing Wednesday

  1. Certainly haven’t published a book like yours, however, I’ve had a lot of joy getting my little children’s book out there. I’ve had a mini author experience, and my grand kids have the pleasure of sitting on my lap while I read it to them. I think it’s great that you are going ahead. I’ll be waiting for it!

  2. Cool! Hopefully this means we get to read it sooner.

  3. Great! Looking forward to buying a copy.

  4. Hi Lisa, My partner just self-published a book. I was in charge of the techie part of the effort like formatting so that it could meet all the requirements for sale on itunes. If you need any help with tech, then let me know. My partner would be happy to give advice, if you need it, on the sales end including all the Amazon stuff and covers and such.

    • Thank you Mary, I’ll definitely keep that in mind and email you down the track when I get to that part. My agent has offered to help with some of the techie stuff too, but the more heads the better.

  5. Congratulations, Lisa! I’m glad you’ve come to peace and excitement. I loved the “baby book” synopsis of the memoir’s journey.

    Dominic is beyond wonderful.

    Love, Alison (of The Guild)

    • I just bought Flunking Sainthood because of your review :). Thanks for dropping in and saying hi. I don’t know if I can make it to the writing festival next April, but I’ll sure miss seeing you guys if I can’t. Hope you and the rest of the fam are doing well. (PS, from what I’ve read, and I know it’s not the whole story, but just saying, you haven’t flunked the fire).

  6. Yay! Very excited for you! And the book! (And a little bit for me bc I have a feeling that I, too, will soon be going down the self-publishing road.) Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help!. xo

Leave a Reply

