Monks on the hill

Another photo from our first day here. I accidentally had the camera on some setting that saturated all the colors – I have no idea what that setting was. The monks were coming down the steps from one of the temples – I have no idea which one.

Yesterday, walking alone in the night market, I saw a whole posse of men dressed as monks. They had cameras slung over their shoulders, and shopping bags. One was using a video camera to film a vendor selling quilts. I have no idea what they were doing or if they were, in fact, local monks. Perhaps there is some sort of monk tourism program?

So much to learn.

5 responses to “Monks on the hill

  1. How exciting it’s been reading about your adventures as you discover this new place that will be ‘home’ for, at best, an indeterminable future. I am reminded of those times that I had my first days in a new country that would be home. The language, the culture, the excitement and the frustrations, all entwined together to create my experience. I smile.

    I remember meeting a ‘monk’ in Thailand at a temple and having a chat. He was uni-aged and told me that he was at the temple for his school holidays. Many Buddhists believe that if they do some time at the temple as a monk it will render them good luck so, as a result, many will spend weeks to months at the temple. He pointed out several other ‘monks’ who were doing some menial tasks and said, ‘they aren’t real monks (he included himself in that statement), the real monks are the ones who dedicate their lives to this temple.’ Quite an interesting conversation. Other’s travel to a good temple to learn to be a monk…and Luang Praban is a well known spiritual centre so you probably get quite a few ‘students’ there :-).
    Thanks for sharing your adventure. DnA

  2. Sharla Chinniah

    Hmmm…I’m interested by Darren’s post…kind of like short-term teams for Buddhists.

  3. You’re quite the amazing accidental photographer!

    I have a friend who met some buddhist monks on a hiking trail just outside of Anchorage, so I guess there are monk-tourists!

  4. Huh, there you go. Thanks Darren, I’ll be sure to chat about that with the monks when I get the chance. I’ve been told that many of them are very eager to practice their english and quite happy to talk to tourists or “farang”.

    Yes, it’s a rich blend these first few weeks, for sure. Novelty is good fodder for creativity though.

  5. Lis- the setting on your camera that most likely acheived high saturation is the ‘Vivid’ setting (it may be called something else on your camera… on Canons that’s what it’s called.

Leave a Reply

